Brian Baragwanath piloted his Bidvest Yamaha Team Rhide SA quad to second place on stage 2, the first proper racing stage, of the 2016 Dakar. This moves him up to second in the overall standings, exactly 4 minutes behind today’s stage winner Ignacio Casale (Yamaha). Argentinian Alejandro Patronelli (Yamaha) is just six second behind Baragwanath in third place overall. The other two South Africans in the quad class, George Twigge and Eddie Barbier, are in 23rd and 40th positions respectively.

South Africa’s only representative in the motorcycle category, Kobus Pogieter (KTM), ended the day in 113th position in the overall standings, an hour and twelve minutes behind the leader Australian Toby Price (KTM). Price is just two seconds ahead of Ruben Faria (Husqvarna).  Stefan Svitko (KTM) is third a further minute and nineteen seconds back.

The car category was won convincingly by former multiple WRC champion Sebastien Loeb. He and co-driver Daniel Elena brought their Peugeot home over two minutes ahead of team mates Stephane Peterhansel and Jean Paul Cottret. Russians Vladimir Vasilyev and Konstantin Zhiltsov (Toyota) finished the day in third.

The first of the South Africans home was Geniel de Villiers with German navigator Dirk von Zitzewitz alongside him in the Toyota Gazoo Racing Hilux. They are in fourth place just two second ahead of another former WRC star Mikko Hirvonen who has veteran co-driver and four-time Dakar champion, Michel Périn alongside him in his MINI. Leeroy Poulter and Rob Howie are flying the South African flag high in sixth place.

The first of the Century CR5s driven by Colin Matthews and Rodney Burke came home 32nd while the similar car piloted by Mark Corbett and Juan Mohr ended the day 38th. Rookies Sean Reitz and Riaan Greyling are 87th their Nissan Navara.

UPDATE: The Russian pair have been hit with a 1 minute penalty which drops them down to sixth place, promoting de Villiers and von Zitzewitz to third overall. Hirvonen is now fourth and Poulter fifth.