Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati) completely dominated race 1 at the tenth round of the Would Superbike Championship held at Lausitzring earlier today, taking the chequered flag by over 10 seconds from Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) with Nicky Hayden (Honda World Superbike Team) in third.

Davies led from pole into the first corner and then pulled away to create a gap to his nearest rival Sykes. By lap five, Davies was 3 seconds ahead with Sykes, teammate Jonathan Rea and Lorenzo Savadori (IodaRacing Team) fighting for second position.

Jonathan Rea run of bad luck continued when he ended up in the gravel on lap 8. The Northern Irishman managed to remount but pulled into the pits and retirement just afterwards. Savadori crashed out of podium contention on the same lap as Rea while local hero Althea BMW’s Markus Reiterberger was forced to retire a lap later. With Rea and Savadori out, Hayden was able to focus on chasing down Sykes but couldn’t match his pace, so had to settle for third.

Davies crossed the finish line 10.5 seconds ahead of Sykes. The dominant win making him the third rider in WorldSBK history to win with three different manufacturers in the same country; Davies won in Nurburgring with BMW and Aprilia and can finally cross the Lausitzring off the list on a Ducati.

Althea BMW Racing Team’s Jordi Torres came home in fourth after battling with Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) and Michael van der Mark (Honda World Superbike Team).

Davies’ teammate Davide Giugliano finished in seventh position ahead of Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team’s Alex Lowes, who had to settle for eighth after a disappointing morning. Lowes’ teammate Sylvain Guintoli gave a solid performance in his first race back from injury, leading Xavi Fores (Barni Racing Team) and Anthony West (Pedercini Racing) home to ninth position. Alex De Angelis brought his Aprilia home in P12 ahead of Roman Ramos on Team GOELEVEN in P13. Australian Josh Brookes (Milwaukee BMW) and Luca Scassa (VFT Racing) rounded out the top 15.

The WorldSBK field will return to the track again on Sunday 18th of September at 13:00 local time (GMT+2).