The Extreme Festival heads down to Cape Town where the competitors will resume battle at Killarney Raceway on Saturday, 16 April 2016.

Topping the bill will be the two national championship classes, the Engen Volkswagen Cup and Investchem Formula 1600 Duratec.

Keagan Masters in action at Zwartkops during the opening round

Image by Paul Bedford – Action Images

Keagan Masters (Champion Polo) had a dream start to his Engen Volkswagen Cup career at the first round of the championship, grabbing pole position an then scoring two second places and a win to take overall victory on the day and the championship lead. He will be looking for a repeat performance but there are a number of drivers out to stop him.

Chief among those is Signature Motorsport stablemate Chris Shorter (Payen Gaskets Polo) who won the opening race at Zwartkops and followed it up with two third places. He lies second on the championship log.

Engen Volkswagen Cup racing is not all about the youngsters, third and fourth on the overall championship log belong two two of the Masters class competitors. Trevor Bland (Universal Health Polo) stood on the top step of the podium after the second race at Zwartkops and is just 4 points behind Shorter with Juan Gerber (Glassfit / C Track Polo) 6 points behind Bland.

Capetonian Jurie Swart (Ferodo Polo) will be looking to put his local knowledge to good use. He put in a great performance on his debut in the class to lie fifth on the log. As is to be expected when new cars take to the track for the first time, a number of drivers experienced teething problems with their vehicles at Zwartkops. Among those that will be hoping development work in the period between races will pay off include Bradley Liebenberg (Ferodo Polo), Shaun la Reservee (Alpine Motors Polo), Matt Shorter (Champion Polo) and Clinton Bezuidenhout (Universal Health Care Polo).

Julian van der Watt leads the Formula 1600 field

Image by Paul Bedford – Action Images

In the opening round of the 2016 Investchem Formula 1600 category Julian van der Watt (Investchem Mygale) and Bevan Williams (MAD Racing Mygale) had race-long duel that ended on the last lap when Williams’ brakes cried enough and he hit van der Watt, putting both of them into retirement.

Their misfortune allowed former champion Werner Scholtz (Investchem Mygale) to take the win from Dean Venter (MAD Racing / Fuchs Oils Mygale) and Dewald Brummer (MAD Racing / Fuchs Oils Mygale).

In race 2 Scholtz came to a standstill shortly after the start. Van der Watt wasn’t going to take a chance second time round and opened up a comfortable gap early on which he was then able to manage and take the win. Williams followed him home with Venter in third.

Others that are likely to be in the hunt at Killarney include Alex Gillespie (Mbotyi River Lodge Mygale), veteran Rick Morris (Investchem Mygale) and Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) who missed the opening round due to business commitments.

In addition to the two national classes there is a full program of supporting races. These include the Crossley & Webb Sports and GT races where Dawie Joubert will be looking to keep the Porsches of Craig Jarvis and Johan Engelbrecht behind his Honda powered Lotus Exige.

A huge entry of bikes will also be on track in the Mike Hopkins Motorcycle races while almost 40 cars are expected to take to the circuit in the Midas Clubmans Saloon Car Events. The V8 Masters and Makita Supercars are also on the bill and will race together.