After two special stages Kris Meeke leads Rally Monte Carlo in his PH Sport Citroen DS 3 by 6.9 seconds from reigning world champion Sebastien Ogier (Volkswagen).

Ogier was quickest through the first stage, where a spin cost Meeke just under 10 seconds, but the Northern Irishman made amends by winning the second stage by 11 seconds.

Ogier’s VW team mate Andreas Mikkelsen is third overnight ahead of Thierry Neuville in the new Hyundai i20. Hayden Padden, in the 2015 version of the Hyundai i20, is in fifth just four-tenths of a second ahead of the Ford of Mads Ostberg.

Top Ten After SS2

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Kris Meeke Abu Dhabi Total WRT Citroen 25m32.1s
2 Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Volkswagen 6.9s
3 Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Volkswagen 20.0s
4 Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport Hyundai 31.4s
5 Hayden Paddon Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai 34.9s
6 Mads Ostberg M-Sport World Rally Team Ford 35.3s
7 Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Volkswagen 38.7s
8 Robert Kubica BRC Racing Team Ford 45.8s
9 Stephane Lefebvre Abu Dhabi Total WRT Citroen 48.6s
10 Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport Hyundai 51.8s