Yamaha Motor Europe N.V. announced yesterday that they will be returning to the World Supersport championship with a factory team for the 2017 season. The company made the announcement at the EICMA International Motorcycle Exhibition in Milan yesterday.

Lucas Mahias and Federico Caricasulo will pilot the two GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team bikes while the Kallio Yamaha Supported WorldSSP Team will have Niki Tuuli and South African Sheridan Morais aboard their machines.

Yamaha last won the FIM Supersport World Championship in 2013 when Sam Lowes took the title.