Looking totally in control Toby Price (KTM) has won the 8th stage of the 2016 Dakar between Salta and Belen, beating overnight leader Paulo Gonçalves (Honda) by 5’17”. Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna) came home in third ahead of Stefan Svitko (KTM) and Kevin Benavides (Honda).

South Africa’s Kobus Potgieter was 80th on the day.

Price’s impressive win has moved him into the lead in the overall standings, 2’05” ahead of the Gonçalves. Svitko is third in the overall standings ahead of Quintanilla and Benavides.

In the quads Marcos Patronelli was in a class of his own. He took the win by 5’42” from brother Alejandro. Brian Baragwanath crossed the line a further 23 seconds back in third but a 15 minute penalty for an engine change yesterday dropped him down to sixth behind Alexis Hernández, Lucas Bonetto and Sergei Karyakin.

George Twigge was 17th on the day with Ted Barbier in 28th.

Marcos’ win has given him the overall lead, just over two minutes ahead of Alejandro. Hernández and Karyakin are third and fourth. Jeremías González Ferioli and Pablo Copetti round out the top six.

Baragwanath has moved up one spot to ninth in the overall standings with team mates Twigge and Barbier in 13th and 28th places respectively.