The opening round of the 2016 Extreme Festival took place at Red Star Raceway outside Delmas on Saturday, 13 February. Stars of the day were Anthony Shelley (Fercor / Tarpave / Supreme Yamaha R1) and Dean Vos (Trolan Bikes / ITR Motorsport Kawasaki ZX10). The duo kept the crowd on the edge of their seats as they fought for the lead in both Dunlop Thunderbike heats. In the opening heat it was Vos who grabbed the early lead with Shelley not far behind. Reigning BOTTS champion Gareth Davidson (Linex Yamaha R1) was next up with his team mate Brandon Goode in fourth. Garrick Vlok (BMW S1000RR) and Steven Odendaal (Petra Racing Yamaha R6) completed the top six. Vlok slowly moved up the field and by three-quarters of the way through the race was in the wheel track of the leading pair who had been swapping the lead all the way through. Shelley made his final move to take the lead on the penultimate lap and managed to hang on to win by just over a tenth of a second. Vlok slipped back on the final lap but still manged to hold on to third 0.24″ ahead of Davidson. Goode ended in fifth ahead of Odendaal whose 600 was out-powered by the 1000cc machines ahead of him. In the second race it was more of the same for Shelley and Vos although they were without the attentions of Vlok and Davidson who both crashed out in the early stages. Vos head a slender lead until Shelley made his move on the penultimate lap and was again able to hang on for the win this time by two tenths. Goode finished in a somewhat lonely third with Odendaal in fourth. Steven Steenkamp (PTA Noord Toyota Honda Fireblade) and Gavin Upton (RSA Racing / Turnskill Kawasaki ZX10) completed the top six.

Kyle Robinson

In the opening race of the Red Square Kawasaki ZX10-R Masters Cup it looked like Kyle Robinson (Fantech / Randblower / Uncle Andy Racing Kawasaki ZX10-R) was going to have things all his own way. In the early stages he was hounded by defending champion Graeme van Breda (IVID Kawasaki ZX10-R) but slowly opened a gap which grew to over 1.5 seconds but then disaster struck for Robinson. He crashed. Although he was able to remount, his lead was gone and he had to settle for ninth.

Robinson’s misfortune allowed van Breda to take a comfortable win ahead of Tony Klem (Frontier Diamaonds) with Teddy Brooke in the final podium position. Sanjiv Singh, Jaco Gous (van Breda Motorcycles) and Appana Ganapathy (ART Racing) competed the top six.

In the second race van Breda quickly opened a substantial lead, initially over Klem, but when he crashed out, over Robinson. It didn’t last though. His bike cried enough and this time Robinson took a comfortable victory ahead of Sven Grune (Page Property Developers) and Gerald van Heerden (AST Africa Training). Brooke, Ganapathy and Johan le Roux rounded out the top six.

Aidan Liebenberg

In the opening round of the Kawasaki ZX6 cup Aidan Liebenberg (Fercor Construction Kawasaki ZX6) had two comfortable wins over Cydney Farinha (Dent Doctor Witbank Kawasaki ZX6). Matthew Herbert on the Vyfster Carriers supported bike was third in both heats.

In the Sub 10 Superbikes Dylan Gray made the trip up from the KZN South Coast worthwhile when he took both heat wins on his South Coast Motors / Wagner Racing Yamaha R1. On both occasions he was followed over the line by Ferdinand Frederick (Embane Electrical BMW S1000RR) and Clive Wright (Yamaha R6).

Sandra Shelley leads the Siverton Bolt & Nut Challenge

Sandra Shelley leads the Siverton Bolt & Nut Challenge

Paul Bedford – Action Images

The Silverton Bolt & Nut Challenge saw 37 bikes line up on the grid for both races and on both occasions it was lady racer Sandra Shelley (Shop 74 Kawasaki ZX6) that led them to the chequered flag. In the opening race she crossed the line over five seconds ahead of Henk Schuiling (Air Systems Kawasaki ZX10) who had an impressive ride from the back of the grid after missing the morning qualifying session. Sarel Marais (Bike Addict Honda CBR) filled the final podium position.

In the second heat Shelley did not have it all her own way. She opened up a substantial gap in the early stages but, by half distance Marais had closed that down and was looking for a way past. He made a number of attempts at turn 9 but Shelley was just able to hold him off each time and went on to take the win. Sam Smith (Jongingozi Outsourcing Kawasaki ZX6) took a lonely third place.

Jeffrey Kruger leads Hilton van Nieuwenhuien and Morne Human

Jeffrey Kruger leads Hilton van Nieuwenhuien and Morne Human

Paul Bedford – Action Images

There were also a couple of car categories out on circuit during the day. In the Northern Bolt & Tool SuperHatch Jeffrey Kruger (VW Polo) had two easy wins over Hilton van Nieuwenhuien (ASAP Peugeot 206). In race 1 Morne Human (MINI Cooper S) claimed the final step on the class A podium which that honour went to Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) in race 2.

In class B Nic Martin piloted his RDG Opel Kadet to the win in the first race. He was followed home by Zane val Zyl (VW Golf) who got the better of a race long dice with Stuart Konig (Northern Bolt & Tool / ASAP Peugeot 206) and Grant Bal (Spar Peugeot 206). In race 2 Martin’s race came to an end after completing just one lap. This left Konig to take the win from Bal and van Zyl.

In class C Andre Dannhauser (Protek Performance Opel Corsa) took both wins from Alta van Wyk (VW Golf) and Adriaan Huygen (HAG Auto Body Opel Kadet).

Jeff Langeveldt

Jeff Langeveldt (Honda CRX) had to fight for his overall and class A win in the first heat of the 111 Sports & Saloons, driving around the outside of George Bezuidenhout (Acolade / The Forkman Nissan Primere) in the tight turn 9 to get to the front. Ryan Quan-Chai (Rex Diff & Gearbox / TAR BMW M4) was a distant third. In the second race the result was the same although Langeveldt had a far easier time, leading from lights to flag.

Vaughn Obhlidal (Tissot / Risolene / Meguiars BMW M3) took both wins in class B as did Ron Harmse (Porsche 911) in class C. In class D Phillip Meyer (LSC / Imperial Porsche 924) beat Mark Harvey (ADAPT / Crystal Creek Mineral Water Prosche 924) to the line in the first race but coundn’t repeat the feat in the second race. Harvey took the win fromĀ  Craig Botha (VW Golf). Both class E heats went the way of Wayne Wall (RAT / Joes / King Tony Porsche 924).