Sébastien Ogier became only the fifth driver – after Sandro Munari, Walter Röhrl, Tommi Mäkinen and Sébastien Loeb – to win Rally Monte Carlo three times in succession when he and co-driver Julien Ingrassia brought their Volkswagen Polo R home 1’54.5″ ahead of team mates Andreas Mikkelsen and Anders Jæger earlier today.

Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville gave the new-specification i20 a podium finish on debut after he managed to drive around the transmission problems he experienced all day to come home in third.

Mads Østberg celebrated his return to the M-Sport squad by taking fourth place in his Ford Fiesta RS. The first Citroen home was piloted by Stephane Lefebvre in fifth with Dani Sordo bring the second new specification Hyundai next across the line.

Despite rolling his Ford Focus on Friday Ott Tanak managed to make it to the end of a very tough rally in seventh ahead of WRC2 winner Elfyn Evans in eighth.


Top Ten

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Volkswagen 3h49m53.1s
2 Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Volkswagen 1m54.5s
3 Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport Hyundai 3m17.9s
4 Mads Ostberg M-Sport World Rally Team Ford 4m47.7s
5 Stephane Lefebvre Abu Dhabi Total WRT Citroen 7m35.6s
6 Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport Hyundai 10m35.5s
7 Ott Tanak DMACK World Rally Team Ford 11m39.9s
8 Elfyn Evans M-Sport World Rally Team (WRC2) Ford 18m30.8s
9 Esapekka Lappi Skoda Motorsport Skoda 20m41.0s
10 Armin Kremer BRR Baumschlager Rallye & Racing Team (WRC2) Skoda 20m43.9s