After a trip to the Free State for the last round, the Extreme Festival returns to Zwartkops for the next installment on 21 May 2016. Eight racing categories will be in action.

Darren Nathan leads Nic Clarke

Image by Paul Bedford – Action Images

The Comsol VW Challenge will be the biggest field on the day with over 40 vehicles expected on the grid.  The class A battle is turning into a three-way fight between Rory Atkinson (Comsol Polo) Tasmin Pepper (Campos Transport / Alpine Motors Polo) and Waldie Meintjes (LTR / Marty’s Body & Spray Polo). Atkinson and Pepper have both won two races this season and are separated by just a single point at the head of the championship log. Meintjes, who was the overall winner when the series visited Zwartkops in March, is just six points behind Pepper.

The class A entry list for the Zwartkops round contains a couple of new additions. Stiaan Kriel will be making his first competitive appearance in his Imperial Select Polo while Charl Smalberger is slated to drive the Sabertek Beetle normally piloted by his father. They will join James Hurley (The Starter Pack Company Polo), Iain Stevenson (Comsol Polo), Wayne Crous (King Price Insurance Polo) and Gavin Ross (Norbrake Polo) in trying to stop the leading trio.

In class B Darren Nathan (Sextrader Polo) is the man to beat. He has won five of the six races held this season and leads the class B and overall championship logs by 15 points from reigning champion Nic Clarke (Central Technical Services Polo). Brad Hall (Hellermann Tyton Racing Polo) and Adrian Wood (Laserfische Polo) are their closest challengers with the Stewart brothers, Daine and Mile, in their RCS Security Services Polos, not far behind.

Graham Savage (Goldwagen JHB CBD and Wynberg Golf) and Elke van Vledder (Golf) look set to resume their battle at the head of the class C field although Stuart Mack (Goldwagen JHB CBD and Wynberg Golf) and the father and son pairing of Wouter and Luan Roos, in their Nathan’s Motorsport Polos, will be looking to join them in the fight for the class win.

Jonathan du Toit

Image by Paul Bedford – Action Images

The G & H Transport Extreme Supercar brigade will tackle two 14-lap races. Charl Arangies is scheduled to make a welcome return to the series in his Stradale Lamborghini Gallardo  as is Sun Moodley in the Bigfoot Express Porsche GT3. Others that will be out challenging for positions are Craig Jarvis (Pablo Clark Ferrari F430 GT3), Marcel Angel (Pablo Clark Ferrari F430GT3), Jonathan du Tout (TAR Ferrari430), Darren Winterboer (Barons BMW F30 Turbo), Willem van der Westhuizen (Stradale Ferrari 430 GT3) and Oliver Dalais (Marboro Crane Porsche 996).

Others to watch include Dawie Olivier (G&H Transport BMWM3), Nicky Dicks (Stradale Porsche GT3), Gianni Giannoccaro (G&H Transport BMW M3 CSL) and Mark du Toit (TAR Ferrari 360).

Peter Hill leads the Formula Vee championship race

Image by Paul Bedford – Action Images

The only national championship category on the bill is the Formula Vees. After two round of the 2016 series Peter Hills (Rhema 2) has a 10-point cushion at the top of the standings over Gert van den Berg (Rhema 2) with Jaco Schriks (Rhema 2) just two points behind van den Berg.

Behind the leading trio, the battle for fourth sees Lushen Ramchander (Rhema 2) just a single point ahead of series stalwart Symm Grobler (Rhema). Greg Wilson (Forza) rounds out the top six on the log.

While picking a winner in this category is difficult, the one thing that can be banked on is that the racing will be close around the 2.4 km long Zwartkops layout.

The National Sports Car Challenge competitors will be making their first appearance on track this season. Likely front runners include the fantastic Racing Shelbys of Wayne Jardine, Johann Steenberg, Michael Jensen, and Mark Lauth,plus the Fine Metals Shelby of Jon Wilson.

Jeff Langeveldt

Image by Paul Bedford

The 111 Sports and Saloon races will see some 30 plus cars in action. Topping the entry list will be the likes of Chad Wentzel(Alfa Romeo GT), George Bezuidenhout (Accolade Nissan Primera), Robyn Kruger (Steamsure VW Polo), Harry Arangies (Stradale Porsche 944), Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco), Jeff Langeveldt (Azoic Honda CRX), Werner Pieterse (Valhalla Spares VW Golf) and Ryan Quan-Chai (RDG BMW Z4).

The AutObarn / Northern Bolt & Tool SuperHatch races should see drivers like Morne Human (ANCRO Mini Cooper S), Brett Garland(AutObarn Honda Civic), Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Peugeot 206), Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic), Chris Davison (Opel Superboss) and Jono Konig (ASAPPeugeot 206) fighting for podium positions.

For the two-wheel racing fans there are Dunlop Thunderbike and Sub 10 Superbike races as well as two  Silverton Bolt & Nut Challenge races.

The Zwartkops gates will be open from 7am, with qualifying sessions until 10h30. Racing gets underway at 10h40.